Irène on BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert

5 May 2023

This final concert in the series exploring the chamber music of Johannes Brahms features the melodious and sunny natured A major Violin Sonata. This is the second of three sonatas described by the composer as sonatas for piano and violin where the piano is at least an equal partner in the duo. Lyrical and lovely, Brahms was at peace when writing this work unlike Martinů whose violin sonata, written in 1944 betrays the trauma and distress of his wartime exile in New York and frequently troubled life. Suk’s Burlesque acts a sorbet between these two worlds – a whirlwind of perpetual motion highlighting the effortless virtuosity of the violinist.

Brahms: Violin Sonata No 2 in A
Suk: Burlesque
Martinů: Violin Sonata No 3
Dvorak: 4 Romantic Pieces Op 75 No 1

Irène Duval, violin
Sam Armstrong, piano

Presented by Stephen Broad
Produced by Lindsay Pell